Metrobank-MTAP-DepEd Math Challenge (MMC)

2012 Metrobank Math Challenge National finalists Named

The Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI) together with the Department of Education (DepEd) and the Mathematics Teachers Association of the Philippines (MTAP) announce the schools which made it to the National Finals of the  2012 Metrobank-MTAP-DepEd Challenge (MMC) to be held on April 21, 2012  at the Metrobank Plaza Auditorium in Makati City.

Out of the more than 1,200 students who competed in the regional finals nationwide, 55 students successfully advanced to the final leg of the competition. This year’s national finalists will come from 34 schools composed of 23 public and 11 private schools from as far as the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

The top schools competing for the Grade 6 Individual Competition are: North Fairview Elementary School (Quezon City); MGC New Life Christian Academy (Taguig City); BHC Educational Institution, Inc. (San Fernando City, La Union); Baguio Village Elementary School (Diffun, Quirino); Special Education Center for the Gifted (Subic Bay, Zambales); Bicol University College of Education Integrated Laboratory School (Legaspi City); Gabaldon Central School (Abuyog, Leyte); Zamboanga Chong Hua High School (Zamboanga City); General Santos City (SPED) Integrated School; and Butuan City Special Education Center.

For Grade 6 Team Competition, the competing schools are: Pasong Tamo Elementary School (Quezon City) ; St. Jude Catholic School (City of Manila); Jocelyn V. Cacas Montessori School, Inc. (Marilao, Bulacan); Lucena West I Elementary School (Lucena City); Bicol University College of Education Integrated Laboratory School (Legaspi City); Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo (Iloilo City); Mandaue School for the Arts (Mandaue City); Gabaldon Central School (Abuyog, Leyte); General Santos City (SPED) Integrated School; and Dansalan College Foundation, Inc. (Marawi City).

For the 4th Year Individual Competition, schools competing are: Fort Bonifacio High School (Makati City); Valenzuela City Science High School; BHC Educational Institution, Inc. (San Fernando City, La Union); Sapang Palay National High School (City of San Jose Del Monte); San Pablo City Science High School; Potter’s Place School (El Nido, Palawan); Tabaco National High School (Tabaco City); Tabunan National High School (Almeria, Biliran); Tagum City National High School; and General Santos City High School.

And for the 4th Year Team Competition, schools competing are: Baguio City National High School-Main; Philippine Cultural College (Caloocan City); Grace Christian College (Quezon City); Teodoro Hernaez National High School (Santa Lucia, Ilocos Sur); De La Salle Lipa Integrated School (Lipa City); Potter’s Place School (El Nido, Palawan); Tabaco City National High School; Mandaue City Science High School; Leyte Progressive High School (Tacloban City); and Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao Campus (Davao City).

“As early as now, we extend our congratulations to our dear students for reaching this far in the competition,” said MBFI president Aniceto Sobrepeña. “We take pride in staging this competition as it brings once again the country’s finest students,” he continued.  

National winners will receive trophies, medals and cash - P25, 000 for the 1st placer, P20,000 for the 2nd placer and P15,000 for the 3rd placer for the elementary level while P50,000 for the 1st placer, P40,000 for the 2nd placer and P30,000 for the 3rd placer for the fourth year level amounting to a total of P540,000 worth of cash prize.

Now on its 11th year, MMC is an annual math competition that aims to discover Mathematical talents among the youth. Previously conducted in the National Capital Region, the Metrobank Math Challenge was expanded to include elementary and high school students nationwide starting in 2001. The annual Math Challenge produces national winners who get to compete and eventually win in international competitions. Among them is Carmela S. Lao, first placer in the Individual Category for 4th Year of the 2011 Metrobank Math Challenge, who reaped a silver medal in the 51st International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO), the first Filipina to do so and the country’s second silver medal after 20 years. Recently, the Metrobank Math Challenge was awarded with the Anvil Award of Excellence in the 47th Anvil Awards by the Public Relations Society of the Philippines (PRSP).

* * * * *

The Metrobank Foundation, the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group, was established by its chairman Dr. George S.K. Ty in 1979. With the theme “Excel. Engage. Empower.” the Foundation has promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through its various programs, such as the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), the Metrobank Art & Design Excellence (MADE), the Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS), the Search for the Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS), the Metrobank Math Challenge (MMC), College Scholarship Program (CSP) and Excellence in Judiciary Program (EJP). It also supports social development projects through like-minded organizations that have sought to uplift the lives of the disadvantaged groups and marginalized sectors in the society. “Converging to Inspire Change!” serves as the battlecry of the Foundation this year.  After 33 years, it shall continue to uphold values of excellence and champion its chosen stakeholders and the rest of our communities. It aims to strength ties with institutional partners in both public and private sectors such that there will always be a venue to further honor those who are able to reach their highest potential. Today, the Foundation remains steadfast in its commitment to remain a leader in corporate social responsibility by initiating and supporting leading edge programs that uplift the lives of our people and inspire the best in the Filipinos.