Excellence Awards

Journalists of the Year (JOY)

The Metrobank Foundation Search for the Journalists of the Year (JOY) recognizes excellence in Philippine journalism. It celebrates and honors
distinctive Filipino journalists from print, television, radio and online media whose excellent storytelling contributed to the development of the nation, and
has influenced and inspired their colleagues and the broader media industry over the years.

The first individuals recognized by the Search in 2001, then known as the Search for Outstanding Journalists, were Sheila Coronel, Jessica Soho and Armando Malay. Their body of work inspired reforms in the workings of media in the Philippines.

It was held in partnership with the Asian Institute for Journalism and Communication (AIJC).

The JOY follows the same tradition of recognizing excellence by the Metrobank Foundation, whose own trailblazing efforts recognize outstanding teachers,
soldiers and police officers, including artists and designers, who excel in their respective fields. These remarkable people redefine the values of service to
countrymen, and selfless dedication to work.

The Metrobank Foundation and the Probe Media Foundation, two institutions with unprecedented track records, unquestionable integrity and pioneering statures in their respective industries, are at the helm of the Search.