Metrobank Foundation Names Outstanding Policemen and Policewomen for 2012

The Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI) and the Philippine National Police (PNP) together with Rotary Cub of New Manila East and PSBank, announced the four (4) policewomen and six (6) policemen who emerged as winners in this year’s Metrobank Foundation, Inc. Search for Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service or COPS.

Four (4) commissioned officers made it to the list and they are: Police Superintendent Belli B. Tamayo (Quezon City); Police Chief Inspector Vicente S. Cabatingan (Laguna) Police Senior Inspector Charity S. Galvez (Butuan City) and Police Superintendent Bernard M. Banac (Quezon City ).

On the other hand, the six (6) non-commissioned officers are: Police Officer 3 Eduardo D. Santiago (Pangasinan); Senior Police Officer 3 Renjun O. Bagaman (Koronadal City); Senior Police Officer 3 Rhia B. Sotomil (Iloilo), Police Officer 3 Mary Jane B. Perez (Cotobato City); Senior Police Officer 4 Ma. Rosario Y. Suarez (Davao City); and Senior Police Officer Robert U. Fabregas (Quezon City).    

“This year’s batch of outstanding policemen and policewomen serves as a testament to our police force’s continuing dedication to their sworn duty and professionalism towards performing their responsibilities,” says MBFI president Aniceto “Chito” M. Sobrepeña. “Notable this year is that we now have  four policewomen awardees shining in our usually male dominated competition. Through the Search for COPS, we honor the exemplary members of the PNP who have worked together with their communities in implementing crime solution and prevention at the same time highlight their contributions to nation-building through various community involvements.” he adds.

From almost 100 nominees received this year, the awardees have gone through a rigorous screening process which involved documents review and a panel interview by the Final Board of Judges representing different sectors of the society. Serving as chair of the Final Board were Court of Appeals presiding justice Andres Reyes, Jr; Representative Jun Omar Ebdane of the 2nd District of Zambales; Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chair Francis Tolentino; Mayor Strike Revilla of Bacoor, Cavite who is concurrently the president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP); Professor Ma. Nieves Confesor, Executive Director of the Asian Institute of Management – Team Energy Center for Bridging Leadership; Atty. Ray Espinosa, President and CEO of TV5; and Gerry Chua, founder and president of Txt Fire Volunteer.     

“As a public servant, I can say that I understand their feelings and the hardships they had to face. Given their resources to perform their job and at the same time being subjected to scrutiny, I can really feel for them and sympathize with them”,  says Justice Andres Reyes, Jr.  

The awardees will be feted together with the winners of the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT) and the Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS) dubbed as the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos on September 5 this year during the Metrobank’s 50th Anniversary. COPS winners will receive a cash prize of P300,000 and a trophy courtesy of the Metrobank Foundation. PNP will also confer them the Medalya ng Katang-tanging Gawa, a testament to the exemplary service of COPS awardees to the police force and the country.  

This year’s winners will join the rank of 98 Outstanding policemen and women, who have been honored since 2002. They automatically become members of the PROTECT (Policemen Responsible (Policemen Responsible for Organizing, Training, Empowering Communities), an honor society of COPS winners who are now spearheading pay-it-forward projects. 

Now on its 10th year, the Search for COPS seeks to identify gallant men and women of the PNP who are able to work with the community to prevent and solve crime at the same time underscore their commitment to professionalism and dedication to their sworn duty.