2012 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers Named

The winners of the 2012 Metrobank Foundation Search for Outstanding Teachers are finally revealed after long months of diligent selection process. Composed of four (4) elementary, four (4) secondary public school teachers, and two (2) professors from the higher education level, the winners join the rank of 306 Outstanding Teachers who have been honored by the Foundation since 1985. Capas, Tarlac, Imus, Cavite, Passi City, and Marinduque produced their first-ever Outstanding Teachers in this batch of 2012 winners.

Elementary competition winners are: Dr. Roberto D. Santos, Jr. of Sta. Rita Elementary School (Capas, Tarlac); Nueva P. Mangaoang of Man-it Integrated School (Passi City); Rizal M. Vidallo of Anabu II Elementary School (Imus, Cavite); and Mariam B. Rivamonte of Santa Cruz South Central School (Santa Cruz, Marinduque).

Secondary competition winners are: Dr. Annie I. Rodriguez of the Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao Campus (Davao City); Bonifacio D. Caculitan, Jr. of Ernesto Rondon High School (Quezon City); Marivi L. Castro of General Santos City SPED Integrated School; and Galcoso C. Alburo of Concepcion Integrated School-Secondary (Marikina City).

Meanwhile, Dr. Hilda C. Montaño of the West Visayas State University (Iloilo City) and Dr. Catherine P. Vistro-Yu of the Ateneo de Manila University (Quezon City) are the winners for the higher education category.

“These extraordinary educators proved that the passion to nurture and teach young minds lives on amidst the challenges each of them faces every day. They could have chosen a different path, and for this, we commend the educators for their selfless dedication to the Filipino youth. This year’s awardees are inspirational for they have become educational innovators in their respective communities,” said Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto Sobrepeña. “They embody the heart and soul of a Filipino educator, tirelessly committed to the pursuit of molding today’s generation. They were one in believing that there is indeed a glorious future for our nation which can be realized through education,” he continued.

A total of 284 teachers were nominated to this year’s Search. They were trimmed down to 139 provincial finalists through documents review and were then reduced to 40 regional finalists who underwent interviews and teaching demonstrations before the members of the preliminary board of judges identified for each category. Twenty (20) of the regional finalists were then selected to become the national finalists.

The national finalists then faced the 2012 Final Board of Judges chaired by Sen. Ralph Recto with members,  Deputy Speaker and Zamboanga City Congresswoman Maria Isabelle Climaco; Secretary of socio-economic planning and NEDA director general Arsenio Balisacan; Indonesian ambassador H.E. Yohanes Kristiarto Soeryo Legowo; Aboitiz Equity Ventures chairman Jon Ramon Aboitiz; De La Salle University president and chancellor Br. Ricardo Laguda, FSC; and GMA7 broadcast journalist Vicky Morales-Reyno. 

This year’s Outstanding Teachers will be conferred with gold medallions. They will also be presented with plaques and a cash prize amounting to Php 350,000 each. They will be presented together with the 2012 awardees of the COPS (Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service) and TOPS (The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers) in formal awarding ceremonies to celebrate Metrobank’s 50th anniversary on September 5, 2012.

Now on its 28th year, the Search honors the teaching profession, recognizing those who exhibit competence, remarkable dedication to their work, and effective educational leadership, as well as their various community involvements in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd). In 2010, the Search has been awarded the Grand Anvil, the highest recognition during the 45th Anvil Awards given by the Public Relations Society of the Philippines (PRSP). Over the years, the Search has become a sought-after award among educators as it earned the prestige of becoming a benchmark of excellence in the teaching profession.