Metrobank Foundation Launches 2013 Search for the Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS)

As the national government continues to exert all efforts to ensure the success of the on-going peace process in Mindanao, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI), Rotary Club of Makati Metro (RCMM) and the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) contribute its share  through  the search for the best and the brightest among the peace warriors of the country with the recent launching of the 2013 Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS) at the AFP General Headquarters Conference Room Camp Emilio Aguinaldo, Quezon City.

Exactly a week after the Government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) signed the Bangsamoro Framework Agreement, MBFI, RCMM, and the AFP have renewed and strengthened their established partnership to again celebrate the heroism of the gallant men and women of the AFP and honor the peace warriors who played significant roles in attaining peace and sustainable progress in Mindanao. The launch highlighted the signing of the Memorandum of Agreement by Mr. Aniceto M. Sobrepeña, MBFI President, VAdm Mateo M. Mayuga (ret) RCMM President, and Gen. Jessie D. Dellosa AFP, AFP Chief of Staff.

“We are here again to begin the search for the best and the brightest in military service and express our sincere gratitude to the AFP for being the agent of peace and development in nation building” said Mr. Sobrepeña.

AFP Chief of Staff General Jessie D. Dellosa AFP committed the support of the military organization to the annual Search and directed all AFP units to ensure wide dissemination of information about the Search and nominate their best soldiers. “My intent is to have our unit commanders and chief offices assist in the recognition of low-key but diligent soldiers whose quiet toil, dedication and commitment are not captured in write-ups and citations” Dellosa said.

TOPS is an annual recognition program for the members of the AFP that seek to honor and recognize their dedication, bravery, professionalism and sacrifices in the military service. It is open to all commissioned officers with a rank of Captain up to Colonel and enlisted personnel who have actively served the AFP for the last seven (7) years. Ten (10) winners will be chosen by a Final Board of Judges – four (4) of whom are commissioned officers and six (6) enlisted personnel.  Each winner will receive a cash prize worth P 300,000 and a trophy courtesy of the Metrobank Foundation. For more info, visit