Metrobank Foundation | Non-Profit Organizations in the Philippines

ngo in the philippines

foundations in the philippines

charities in the philippines

donate philippines

charity works in the philippines

philanthropist in the philippines
metrobank foundation programs

Winners of the 2017 Metrobank Math Challenge Awarded

Winners of the 2017 Metrobank-MTAP-DepEd Math Challenge (MMC) national finals held last April 22, 2016. They were awarded by (top row) MBFI executive vice president Elvira Ong-Chan (6th from left), MTAP president Sr. Iluminada Coronel (7th from left), Manila Tytana Colleges president Dr. Sergio Cao (8th from left), and MBFI president Aniceto Sobrepeña (9th from left). First placers for Grade 6 (top row) are Rickson Caleb Tan (1st from left), Kian Colin Chua (3rd from left), and Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue (5th from left). The Grade 10 first placers (bottom row) are Christian Philip Gelera (2nd from left) and Margareth Esther Cruz (4th from left).

The country’s math geniuses competed during the national finals of the 2017 Metrobank-MTAP-DepEd Math Challenge (MMC) National Finals, held last April 22, 2017 at the Metrobank Plaza Auditorium in Makati City.

Out of the 572,916 students who competed in the nationwide elimination rounds, 44 students representing 29 public and private schools successfully met the “hurdle rate” in their scores leading them to advance to the final leg of the MMC.

The national finals showcased the mathematical competence of Grade 6 and Grade 10 students who competed in individual and team categories. The challenge consisted of solving complex mathematical problems mentally within 15 seconds and additional rounds of 30-second and one-minute questions using pen and paper. As the first math competition in the Philippines to use technology that leads to faster generation of contest results, the MMC provides national finalists with tablet computers, through which they send answers directly to the judges, who then immediately mark them as “correct” or “wrong”.

Out of the 29 competing schools, 9 have produced their first ever national finalist. They are  Ilocos Sur National High School (Vigan City), College of the Holy Spirit of Tarlac (Tarlac City), Maliwalo High School (Tarlac City); De La Salle University Integrated School (Biñan City); Palawan State University Laboratory Elementary School (Puerto Princesa City); Binalbagan Catholic College High School Department (Binalbagan, Negros Occidental); Mary Infant Jesus School (Iligan City); Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology Integrated Development School (Iligan City); Notre Dame of Dadiangas University (General Santos City); and Palanan Elementary School (Makati City).

Winners were awarded by Guest of Honor Dr. Sergio Cao, Manila Tytana Colleges (MTC) president, who also delivered an inspirational message to inspire the young audience; MBFI president Aniceto M. Sobrepeña; and MTAP president Sr. Illuminada C. Coronel. They were also joined by MBFI executive vice president Elvira Ong-Chan.

Rickson Caleb Tan of MGC New Life Christian Academy (Taguig City) was the first placer in the Grade 6 Individual Competition, while Evgeny Cruz of Palanan Elementary School (Makati City) and Sigfred Kerwayne Kwan of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School (Zamboanga City) were second and third placers, respectively.

For the Grade 6 Team Competition, Kian Colin Chua and Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue of St. Jude Catholic School (City of Manila) were the 1st placers. James Ryan Saluta and Cris Adrielle Abrea of Butuan City Special Education Center (Butuan City) placed 2nd while Evgeny Cruz and Gichelle Miracle Burwell of Palanan Elementary School (Makati City) were 3rd.

For the Grade 10 Individual Competition, Christian Philip Gelera of Philippine Science High School-Main Campus (Quezon City) was the 1st placer, while Sean Anderson Ty of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School (Zamboanga City) settled at 2nd and Jan Vincent Simbol of BHS Educational Institution, Inc. (Baguio City) placed 3rd.

In the Grade 10 Team Competition, Christian Philip Gelera and Margareth Esther Cruz of Philippine Science High School-Main Campus (Quezon City) were the 1st placers. Sean Anderson Ty and Vicente Raphael Chan of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School (Zamboanga City) placed 2nd while Cris Jericho Cruz and Dominic Yap of Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas Campus (Iloilo City) were 3rd.

Sobrepeña congratulated the winners for “their willingness to try new methods and persevere through ‘failures’.” He underscored the competition’s impact, saying that, “By providing a venue for friendly competition, the Metrobank Math Challenge has instilled in our youth the values of teamwork, persistence, and analytical thinking.”

National winners received trophies, medals, and cash prizes which are as follows: P25,000 for the 1st placer, P20,000 for the 2nd placer, and P15,000 for the 3rd placer in the Grade 6 category while P50,000 was given to the 1st placer, P40,000 for the 2nd placer and P30,000 for the 3rd placer in the Grade 10 category amounting to a total of P540,000 worth of cash prizes. Part of the cash prize received by the winners allowed them to open a special savings account with the Metrobank Fun Savers Club, designed for kids 17 years and below. This encourages young members to save for their own future.

Meanwhile, all national finalists received giveaways sponsored by MTC, Casio Philippines, The Government Service Insurance System (GSIS), Anvil Publishing, Philippine Science Centrum, Active Fun Children’s Play and Party Centers, Tom’s World, Enchanted Kingdom, and the Primer Group of Companies. Other cooperating institutions include Itemhound, Expert Ideas and Trends, City Garden Hotel Makati, and Pronto Express Distribution.

Now on its 16th year, MMC is the most widely participated math competition in the country among elementary and high school students. The annual Math Challenge produces national winners who get to compete and eventually win in international competitions. Among them are Farrell Eldrian Wu and Kyle Patrick Dulay who reaped the first gold medals of the Philippines at the recent 57th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) held in Hong Kong.

Post your thoughts on this article:
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Tags: 2017 News


Footer Icon 0000 Facebook
Footer Icon 0001 Vector Smart Object
Footer Icon 0003 Twitter
Footer Icon 0002 Vector Smart Object

Copyright 2017 | Metrobank Foundation
Powered by: iManila