Metrobank Foundation | Non-Profit Organizations in the Philippines

ngo in the philippines

foundations in the philippines

charities in the philippines

donate philippines

charity works in the philippines

philanthropist in the philippines
metrobank foundation programs
  • Home
  • News
  • Media
  • Senate Lauds the 2021 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

Senate Lauds the 2021 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

Chairperson of the Final Board of Judges for the 2021 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos Senator Maria Lourdes Nancy-Binay Angeles sponsored Senate Resolution No. 838 to honor and commend this year’s awardees during the 18th Congress plenary session on Nov. 9, 2021. Photo from Sen. Binay-Angeles’ Twitter page.

The Senate of the Philippines commended this year’s Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos in a hybrid plenary session on Nov. 9, 2021.

The 18th Congress adopted Senate Resolution No. 838 entitled “Honoring and Commending the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos of 2021.” Senator Maria Lourdes Nancy Binay-Angeles, sponsor of the resolution and chairperson of the Final Board of Judges for the 2021 Search said “It is but fitting that we in the Senate properly recognize our awardees as our partner in the information building and thank them for going beyond expectations and continuing to serve the people, Amid all the confusion and uncertainty that we are experiencing collectively, we can benefit from being reminded of the kind of grit and spirit that we all are capable of.”

Comprised of four (4) teachers, three (3) soldiers, and three (3) police officers, this year’s awardees are: (1) Lou Sabrina S. Ongkiko (Quezon City); (2) Jason B. Albaro (Muntinlupa City); (3) Maria Minerva P. Calimag, M.D., M.Sc., Ph.D. (City of Manila); (4) Iris Thiele Isip-Tan, M.D., M.Sc. (City of Manila); (5) Technical Sergeant Jake P. Belino, PAF (Baguio City); (6) Colonel Elmer M. Boongaling, PA (Taguig City); (7) Colonel Augusto N. Padua, PAF (Pasay City); (8) Police Senior Master Sergeant Mary Joy B. Ylanan (Bogo City, Cebu); (9) Police Lieutenant Colonel Gerard Ace J. Pelare (Talisay City, Cebu); and (10) Police Lieutenant Colonel Jonathan P. Pablito (Iloilo City).

They were formally conferred during Metrobank’s 59th anniversary celebration last Sept. 2 where they received a cash prize of PhP1 million each (net of tax), a golden medallion, and “The Flame” trophy.

Photos by Voltaire F. Domingo of the Senate of the Philippines’ Public Relations and Information Bureau.

Sen. Panfilo Lacson, chairperson of the Senate Committee on National Defense and Security and chairperson of the Final Board of Judges for the 2017 Search, mentioned in his privilege speech that “no amount of accolades will be commensurate with the glory and hope that these public servants accorded the Filipino people.” He also commended the Metrobank Foundation (MBFI) “for staying true to its commitment to promoting a culture of professionalism, excellence, and heroism.”

Sen. Joel Villanueva, chairperson of the Senate Committee on Higher, Technical and Vocational Education and chairperson of the Final Board of Judges for the 2016 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos said the awardees are those who “dare to matter and make a difference amidst the pandemic. They are our teachers who strive to be the best teachers that they could ever be despite the limitations and health risks…They are our police and military officers who…dare to create real and sustainable changes when facing complex social issues. They epitomize what a change maker is: self-less, courageous, and passionate.”

Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian, chairperson of the Senate Committee on Basic Education and chairperson of the Final Board of Judges for the 2019 Search mentioned that this year’s batch of awardees “went [the] extra mile in overcoming adversities brought upon by the pandemic and displayed remarkable acts of service even beyond their call of duty to our countrymen.”

Sen. Francisco Tolentino, on the other hand, recognized that the awardees “personify the dignity, courtliness, and grandeur of the Filipino people” while Sen. Ramon Revilla, Jr. expressed his full support to the passing of the resolution. “The teachers’ pioneering work in progressive learning experience and innovative teaching methods have become important solutions to the education sector in this age of new normal while our AFP officers’ gallant and heroic contributions in peacebuilding, disaster response operations, and counterinsurgency efforts are worth our snappy salute. Our police officers’ accomplishments in illegal drugs campaign, reducing crime volume, and promoting peace and order are indeed laudable. They are the beacons of hope for the country’s recovery amidst this COVID-19 crisis and they embody the very best of Filipinos especially in public service,” he said.

A Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino is guided by the value of going “Beyond Excellence,” modeling and raising the bar of excellence in their respective fields. Their contributions speak of service beyond one’s self, inspiring others to do the same. Their service and community involvement have helped shape better communities and created a lasting positive impact upon the people.

Since 1985, MBFI has honored a total of 685 outstanding Filipinos. The program is held in partnership with the Department of Education, Commission on Higher Education, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police, PSBank, Rotary Club of Makati Metro, and the Rotary Club of New Manila East.

Post your thoughts on this article:
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Tags: 2021 News


Footer Icon 0000 Facebook
Footer Icon 0001 Vector Smart Object
Footer Icon 0003 Twitter
Footer Icon 0002 Vector Smart Object

Copyright 2017 | Metrobank Foundation
Powered by: iManila