Metrobank Foundation | Non-Profit Organizations in the Philippines

ngo in the philippines

foundations in the philippines

charities in the philippines

donate philippines

charity works in the philippines

philanthropist in the philippines
metrobank foundation programs
  • Home
  • News
  • Media
  • House of Representatives Honors 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

House of Representatives Honors 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

The House of Representatives adopted House Resolution 345 commending the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos for their dedication and professionalism in the pursuit of excellent public service.

This year’s Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos paid a courtesy visit to Speaker Ferdinand Martin Romualdez last September 12, 2022 at the Speaker Social Hall, House of Representatives in Quezon City. The awardees were also honored at the Plenary Hall wherein the 19th Congress adopted House Resolution (HR) No. 345 in consolidation with HR Nos. 308 and 309 filed by Pasig City Rep. Roman Romulo and HR 351 filed by senior Deputy Speaker and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, a resolution honoring and commending the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos of 2022.

19th Congress Speaker of the House of Representatives, Martin Romualdez (center) together in a photo with the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos. From left to right are Technical Sergeant Joel Tuganan, Col. Maria Victoria Juan, Junmerth Jorta, Christine Joy Aguila, Leonila Dans, Metrobank Foundation Inc. President Anecito Sobrepeña, Mark Nolan Confesor, Police Col. Lambert Suerte, Police Capt. Rosalino Panlaqui, and Police Executive Master Sergeant Rogelio Rodriguez Jr.

The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos is a prestigious career-service award for Filipino exemplars in the academe, military, and police sectors.

Guided by the theme of “Beyond Excellence”, a Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino is recognized for rendering service above and beyond his/her call of duty. His/her accomplishments must have inspired and influenced their peers as well as the people in their respective communities. Their works must have transformed a community with a lasting positive impact on people and to the country.

Recipients of the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Teachers are (1) Mr. Junmerth C. Jorta, “Bukidnon’s Ingenious Educator for the Indigenous Peoples,” Teacher I and Officer-in-Charge of Keupiyanan Te Balugo (San Fernando, Bukidnon); (2) Christine Joy DR. Aguila, Ph.D., “Quezon City’s Champion Educator of Filipino Language Instruction,” Special Science Teacher 5, Philippine Science High School – Main Campus (Quezon City); (3) Mark Nolan P. Confesor, Ph.D., “Mindanao’s Physicist-Educator Extraordinaire,” Professor 6, Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology (Iligan City); and (4) Leonila F. Dans, M.D., M.Sc., “Manila’s Pioneering Educator on Pediatric Rheumatology,” Professor 12, University of the Philippines Manila (City of Manila).

Recipients of the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Soldiers are (5) Technical Sergeant Joel L. Tuganan PA, “Central Mindanao’s Combat Ace and Marksman,” First Sergeant of the Delta Company, 33rd Infantry Battalion, 6th Infantry Division, Philippine Army (Radjah Buayan, Maguindanao); (6) Colonel Maria Victoria P. Juan NC, “Philippine Army’s Health Service Innovator,” Army Chief Nurse, Office of the Army Chief Nurse, Headquarters Philippine Army (Taguig City); and (7) Colonel Stephen L. Cabanlet PN(M), “Philippine Marine Corps’ Visionary Warrior for Peace,” Assistant Chief of Unified Command Staff for Operations, U3, Western Command, Camp Gen. Artemio Ricarte (Puerto Princesa City).

Meanwhile, recipients of the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Police Officers are (8) Police Executive Master Sergeant Rogelio A. Rodriguez Jr., “Criminal Investigation and Detection Group’s Crime-busting Intelligence Operative,” Investigator, Anti-Fraud and Commercial Crimes Unit, Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (Quezon City); (9) Police Captain Rosalino E. Panlaqui, “Jalajala, Rizal’s Chief Protector and Community Relations Advocate,” Chief of Police, Jalajala Municipal Police Station (Jalajala, Rizal); and (10) Police Colonel Lambert A. Suerte, “PNP Special Action Force’s Stalwart of Law and Public Safety,” Battalion Commander, Regional Mobile Force Battalion – National Capital Region Police Office (Taguig City).

Dr. Dans is the first Pediatric Rheumatologist and one of the first Clinical Epidemiologists in the Philippines. Several pediatricians have followed in her footsteps, caring for children with rheumatic conditions. She led the implementation of Southeast Asia’s first Master of Science program in Clinical Epidemiology. To this day, she extends her expertise to strengthen primary care in rural areas.

Colonel Juan is the driving force of the Philippine Army’s Health Service. Her innovative streak led to the start of the Army Aeromedical Evacuation Capability and Enhancement of Casualty Care Management System. She is also assigned as the technical staff of the Commanding General of the Philippine Army on nursing-related matters.

Police Executive Master Sergeant Rodriguez Jr.’s contributions to the police force’s campaign against criminality underscore his expertise as an intelligence operative. In several missions, his unit apprehended high-profile outlaws. He was also instrumental to the arrest of an international terrorist and prevention of a lethal attack.

The awardees join the ranks of 685 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos since 1985. The program is held in partnership with the Department of Education, Commission on Higher Education, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police, PSBank, Rotary Club of Makati Metro, and the Rotary Club of New Manila East.

Post your thoughts on this article:
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Tags: 2022 News


Footer Icon 0000 Facebook
Footer Icon 0001 Vector Smart Object
Footer Icon 0003 Twitter
Footer Icon 0002 Vector Smart Object

Copyright 2017 | Metrobank Foundation
Powered by: iManila